Skip to content

A New Spring

January 29, 2012

Three years ago, I wrote a post and went into a blogging hiatus, thinking that I had given up this hobby forever. During that time, returning to writing certainly crossed my mind — dozens of posts on various issues swirled through my head — but putting pen to paper (or more appropriately, fingertips to computer keys) remained an imaginary idea at best. And so three years ago, my last post dealt with how a given time-space can affect a situation. Perhaps now, this is the time for me to use this space properly.

I guess a lot has changed in three years, alhamdulillah: I’m nearing the end of my residency; I got married to an amazing woman who I certainly don’t deserve; I’ve met fascinating people doing remarkable things to improve the world around them; and I’ve tried to learn as much as I possibly can along the way. I’m older now, yet certainly not wiser.

This time around, things will be slightly different: I want to focus on certain topics that aren’t found on other blogs: religious issues in the context of our times; religion in the context of science, particularly medicine; and social commentary on the amazing and the idiosyncratic of our community. In other words, satire posts, while once my favorite medium to convey themes and messages I strongly believe in, will probably not come along for this ride. Hopefully, I intend to provide refreshingly different material about once a week that I hope you will find entertaining and informative.

So here we go, perhaps fittingly enough in the time of Rabi` al-Awwal (The First Spring), a new spring for this hobby of mine that went quiet for a while, but never really went away.

Have I lost a step? Probably.

Do I still got it? We’ll find out.

Why? Why not.

 

From → Miscellaneous

2 Comments
  1. Azam Hussain permalink

    Welcome back. You should definitely do a series about some of those fascinating people who are changing the world.

  2. I’m glad to see you back. No one should ever leave writing.

Leave a Reply

