Skip to content

August 23, 2005

Today’s Moment of “Tell ‘Em Like It Is”


I still have to answer some of the insightful comments that were left in my previous post, but as you can see from what I’m currently gaming, I’m pretty busy… in a certain way. I do have to say that for one thing, I’m honored that many of you actually did read the entire article, remembered its salient points, and then sought to critique it. Mashallah, some of the observations were extremely intelligent and caused me to ponder on them for a while. I’ll inshallah reply to those during the daytime today (Tuesday)


I’ve also decided to start a new series of posts with the title seen above. Essentially, this will be quotes from people whom I converse with in everyday life that are quite profound and yet aren’t the most politically correct. Nonetheless, the insight in such quotes cannot be denied; at the very least, they have entertainment value if the insight can’t be figured out.


I guess there is no better way to start this series than a quote from the incomparable and illustrious emerald of Chicago, Shaykh Mohammed Amin Kholwadia (hafidhahullah). Note, the comment was said in jest, so don’t go up to him and be like, “I read this on kr’s xanga”, blah blah blah. He’ll think me to be a bigger buffoon than I already am…


Anyway, so on Monday morning, I was having a class with him, and suddenly a question came to mind about a nuance of the Arabic language. I had never really thought about this particular question before–I had always accepted it without really probing the explanation behind it. For some reason today, not only did this question pop into my head, but I even asked him about it. The question: I asked him why isn’t there any specific word for “is” in Arabic.(For example, the hadith of the Prophet [salallahu `alayhi wa sallam] which states “Al-deenu naseehah” is translated and understood as “The religion is sound counsel”) Shaykh Amin’s mirthful reply, which can be best appreciated if you read it aloud in his immaculate British accent:


“The Arabs realized that the “is” is implied in these sentences, and didn’t want to waste time coming up with another word to represent that. They figured that only an idiot wouldn’t be able to understand this, and if someone couldn’t recognize this, he was an idiot, and they didn’t want him speaking their language in the first place.”


Finally, and while this may be completely off-topic, I think ISNA should invite John Madden to the conference and allow him to speak. They should give him a telestrator, broadcast it on those giant screens, and let him draw some diagrams that will help us understand how we can improve our condition. At the main Saturday night session, they should get a scholar from Al-Azhar or something to bestow upon him an honorary shaykh-hood for all that Madden has done for humanity by bringing us this beautiful game… Shaykh Yahya b. Madden al-Amriki… it has a nice ring to it, no?

From → Uncategorized

24 Comments
  1. Salaams… lol… I SO wish I coulda heard it in the British accent! 😛  Neat idea for future postage.. do continue! ^_^

  2. KR, we’re not reading your SA node theory cause you wrote it, we’re reading it cause it concerns Chicago and the American Muslim community.Oh and Hafiz Amin Rocks.

  3. Anonymous permalink

    hahah…say it like it is kaz.
    arite, can we please give the word ‘salient’ a freakin BREAK???
    Sh.Amin, mashallah.
    -is.

  4. new idea: use voice recorder to record other spiffy british accent quotes and put up on xanga.

  5. Anonymous permalink

    haha shaykh Amin is a stud…mash’Allah…
    nigger-ul-haq

  6. Sir Madden is such a studdified stud.  He always says the bestest things. Like yesterday, during the Cowboys-Seahawks game, when he and Al Michaels discussed NFL officials and how studly their new caps are. Here’s a nearly kalima-be-kalima transmission of what he said: “What kid says, ‘Hey when I grow up, I want to be an NFL official!’? These guys are here because something went wrong on the way to where they were going.” And then Al Michaels talks about how officials are lawyers and accountants and stuff. Man, the things I learn from those two. God Bless ’em.God Keep Sheikh Amin and his euphonious accent.-IJB

  7. Its funny that you bring up Sheikh Amin after the SA node post because I call Sheikh Amin “SA node.” So if Chicago is the Nation’s SA node, then Sheikh Amin is Chicago’s SA node…. *weird*

  8. sheikh amin kicks rear.

  9. dude… that is too much.
    salaamalaikumwarahmatullahiwabarakatu.
    now, for the rest of the day, I will tell everyone I meet about the new beauty I realized here about the Arabic language.
    lol @ shaykh madden

  10. Anonymous permalink

    lol…shaykh madden

  11. Anonymous permalink

    John madden is horrible, listening to him is as bad as listening to Ron Santo struggling with the daily faxes.
    Nevertheless major props to his games that make my day every day I play

  12. Anonymous permalink

    Dang I thunk I rhymed there for a bit, move over IJB theres a new sheriff in town.

  13. ‘is’ is for idiots haha.
    asalamu alaikum.

  14. lol at Sheikh Amin’s deep words…btw…i’m related to Sheikh Amin….My dad and him are cousin brothers….does that make him sort of like my Unlce?

  15. i remember asking my arabic teacher the same thing. since i’ve had the opp to hear sh amin speak in the past, i could so imagine him saying that; his response had bite; would have made me turn red

  16. return of the eProp. quite a fair exchange, but i feel honored just posting on your site. and i dint post earlier cuz i dint read ur entry, and i still haven’t read it but since you whined…lol jk. i lowe you, don’t forget that.

  17. horrible commentator: Bill Walton

  18. Anonymous permalink

    Haha…Awesome explanation.
    Btw, it isn’t Al-deenu naseehah. Rather, it is Al-deenu Al-naseehah.  Seems like someone needs to review his Zaad-ut-Taalibeen.  Haha…

  19. actually, it is “al-deenu naseehah.” “al-deenu al-naseehah” wouldn’t make sense because “naseehah” isn’t an adjective and that is a noun-adjective construction. “naseehah” needs to remain indefinite in order to be the predicate of the sentence.

  20. didnt have time to read it, but heres your friggin props you jagbag

  21. Anonymous permalink

    shaykh Yahya b. Madden al-Amriki…lol…wonderful

  22. Anonymous permalink

    To ishiwud:
    No, generally that would be the case.  However, here it is different.  It really is “Al-deenu Al-Naseehah”. The “Al” before Naseehah has different linguistic explanations, among which is that it is for “jins” which (roughly) means that it contains within it all different forms of naseehah (advice).  For example, the “Al” in “Alhumdu Lillah” serves the same purpose, meaning “All Praises,” not just “The Praise”.  But anyway, I don’t want to use up KR’s xanga for the commentary on this hadith.  However, you may feel free to double check this hadith (narrated by Tameem Al-Daari) yourself in “Kitabul Eeman” in both Bukhari (under “Baabu Qauli Al-Nabiyyi [SAWS] Al-Deenu Al-Naseehah”) and Muslim (under “Baabu Bayaani Inna Al-Deena Al-Naseeha”).

  23. Anonymous permalink

    ugh why does this xanga suck
    ughy why does KR have to be an eprop nazi

  24. that was awesome

Leave a Reply

