Skip to content

November 2, 2004

More Public Service Announcements


1. Tomorrow is Tuesday, November 2: Election Day. Get out there and vote. Given that we’re currently in the 2nd ten days of Ramadan (the Days of Forgiveness), let us hope that Allah will forgive us and remove the trial known as the Bush regime that He has tested us with the past 4 years. By us, I mean all of creation: mankind, animals, and the environment as well. While I don’t think Kerry is a messianic redeemer for this country, it boils down to choosing between the lesser of two evils. At least with Kerry, we won’t be starting new wars with countries, civil rights might actually become a key domestic policy, and the economy might actually improve. Most importantly, VOTE FOR BARACK OBAMA. This man oughta be running for President. Finally, if there’s a write-in spot for a candidate for some obscure county in Illinois, be sure to write my name in. I think I’d like to be an alderman of a few farms in central Illinois.



2. Ok, I don’t know if I should make this announcement, but many of you guys have called, emailed, and generally asked if I’m going to be leading taraweeh this month anywhere closer than the boondocks of Frankfort. Note that I’m only mentioning this because so many of you have asked and I unfortunately don’t have time to get back to everyone personally.


11/1: Downtown Islamic Center, 18th juz (Surah al-Mu’minoon and Surah al-Nur), Isha 7:30 pm.


11/3: (tenative) DIC, will post the juz if I find out.


11/5: (tenative) DIC, same as above


11/5: (late night, 2 am) Shabeena at ISNS Rolling Meadows Masjid, 11th juz


11/6: (late night, 2 am) Shabeena at MSI (Glendale Height), 27th juz 


11/7: 10 pm Shabeena at ISNS Rolling Meadows Masjid, 29th juz.


11/10: Khatm at Frankfort Masjid (American Islamic Association, 8860 W. St. Francis Street, Frankfort, IL 60423), Isha: 7:30 pm.


3. Thanks to Rich for sending me this hilarious article: http://onion.com/news/index.php?issue=4043&n=1


4. Sometimes the most profound lessons can be found in jokes. Read the following joke with this powerful ayah of the Qur’an in mind: “Indeed, God does not change the condition of a people until they change their own condition“.


During a particularly wet winter, floodwaters rise so high in one
town that the National Guard evacuates all the residents.

One man stays behind, however, and when the water is waist-high,
two national guardsmen in a boat motor past his house, checking
for people left behind.

“We’re evacuating the town because of the flood! Jump in the boat
and we’ll carry you to safety!”

But the man says, “No, don’t bother; I’ve led a pious life, and
the Lord will save me.”

The men in the boat shrug their shoulders and motor away. Later,
when the water level has driven the man onto his roof, another
boat appears.

“Haven’t you heard the town has been evacuated? Come on, we’ll
save you!”

But the man sends them away again, saying, “No, no, the Lord will
save me!”

The water level keeps rising until the man is standing on his
chimney and barely keeping his head above water. A helicopter,
doing a final check, appears overhead. It drops a rope, and the
loudspeaker says,

“Grab the rope and we’ll bring you to safety!”

But the man waves the helicopter away, once again saying, “No,
the Lord will save me!”

But the water level keeps rising, and he drowns.

When he gets to heaven, he is completely bewildered. He asks God,
“God, why didn’t you save me?”

And God says, “Well, I sent you two boats and a helicopter.”


5. I stumbled on something amazing during Iftar yesterday. Perhaps you might already be aware of it, but to me it was like an opening from an unseen realm as my taste buds were immersed in culinary nirvana. ok, maybe not that dramatic, but I was eating cholay at iftar and I thought: “Hmm, let me put just a touch of raita on this (cause it was steaming hot and I thought it would slightly cool the temperature down)”… to my amazement, that small–nay, even insignificant–amount of raita on the cholay took it to the next level. It was simply amazing. Try it on your cholay for iftar and you’ll thank me.


6. Mashallah to the Bears for winning last night. Let the Craig Krenzel era begin! (yes, I know I said the same thing for the Jonathan Quinn era and I was forced to recant that statement… but this Krenzel guy’s got promise. Be sure to check out Hisham’s [may Allah soften and smoothen his earlobes] xanga for the latest Bears news)


7. Props to #1 for finding this: http://chintan.net/conan.wmv



 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Anonymous permalink

    obama for president.

  2. Anonymous permalink

    Thank you for the continued dua’s on the earlobes.But something has inflicted my left ear, there is a bump. I dunno whats going on…Someones putting nazr on my ear lobes!Oh and that Conan Indian Outsourcing clip is sooo old! P.S youre link dont work

Leave a Reply

