Skip to content

June 28, 2004

This Sucks


Just found out some crappy news. I was playing basketball last weekend and on the last play of the game, I got a charlie horse in my right thigh. I figured it was just a normal run-of-the-mill injury, so I was walking on the foot like nothing had happened.  The next day I even played softball on it. Turns out that was a mistake.


I’m not sure if this is the evil eye at work here, but I found out a few days ago that I have a partial tear in one of my quadriceps muscles (vastus lateralis, in red in the picture below) that caused a hematoma (basically a huge clot of blood) underneath the muscles that’s made it impossible to flex/bend my thigh.



Anyway, I know I already said this, but this totally sucks. I can’t pray normally, it hurts to move my leg, and I’m on crutches from anywhere from a week to 3 weeks. As much as the pain and inability to use my leg is crappy, equally annoying is having to respond to the question that everyone (naturally) asks when they see me on crutches: “What happened?” So hopefully this post will answer that question and inspire/encourage you all to make du’a (supplication) for me that I get better soon. I’m supposed to be on crutches for another 2 weeks since the less weight I put on the right leg, the better it is for the hematoma to clear up. The worst part about this is that I’m, God-willing, supposed to go to California on Thursday. It’s gonna totally suck to have to try and fly with crutches… so supplicate for my wayward soul and damaged leg with the request that it gets better enough so that I can still fly out on Thursday.


Note: I watched Requiem for a Dream last week, but since I haven’t watched/read/done anything exciting, I’m just listing the last movie I saw. Though I did see Fahrenheit 911 last night… I oughta post on that later as well.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Anonymous permalink

    Assalamu alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa bakratuhu
    now that you are on crutches, you may have to pray differently?  like muj.  everyone loves teh way muj prays… its so cool.
    Assalamu alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barkatuathu

  2. inshallah you’ll be back to normal soon…

Leave a Reply

