Skip to content

June 22, 2004

Final Thoughts on Hammoudi


After attending the funeral prayers (janazah) and the burial for Mohammed yesterday, I’m left with one main thought: He’s much luckier than I am.


Over the past few days, I’ve been hearing from a myriad of people their thoughts on Hammoudi, whether it be by email, phone, or in person. They all seem to have one common theme: no one had anything bad to say about him. And I guess that’s the greatest blessing a person can hope for when they pass away, to not have anyone feel anything in their hearts against them. Our beautiful tradition teaches us that Allah is more likely to forgive sins that are between one’s self and Him (missing a fast for example) as compared to sins that one has done against His creation. The latter requires a forgiveness of the injured party in addition to the forgiveness of God; the former is easily forgiven in the vastness of God’s mercy.


That’s why my boy is one of the luckiest people I know. While it was a sobering and sad day to see him lying in the coffin, it was refreshing to see more than 300 people attend the funeral prayer. While it was a tragedy to see my friend pass away after having gone through all he did, it was a blessing to remember that our Prophet said that not even a thorn pricks a believer except that he is forgiven for his sins. My hair stands on end and I am envious when I think of how many sins my boy had forgiven because of what he went through. For me, the most shocking part of yesterday was to see him lowered into the ground and see the dirt being thrown on him as the coffin slowly disappeared from view. I thought to myself: All this worrying and struggling and bickering that consumes our daily lives… in the end, it’s only dirt returning to dirt, with nothing, not even shadows remaining behind. I think human conflicts would be resolved much more quickly and amicably if people could remember that.


After all the dirt had been poured down into his grave… the heavens opened up and a rain of mercy began to pour down on us as we all made our final prayers over his grave for the day. It wasn’t a heavy rain–rather, a light, barely perceptible rain was falling from the heavens, the same type of rain that fell on the Muslims before the battle of Badr, a rain from the heavenly storehouses of mercy. As I shed one last tear while walking away from his grave, I began to feel the heavenly tears grow in intensity, and thus a verse that referred to the destruction of the people of Pharoah from Surah al-Dukhan rang through my head: “And the heaven and the earth wept not for them, nor were they reprieved”. And thus as the heaven wept for my friend as we walked away, I smiled, confident and hopeful that his Lord was pleased with him and He was letting us know of this.


Finally, to honor Hammoudi, I propose that we make his last xanga post (www.xanga.com/moe152) the highest rated post ever. Even for those of you who don’t have xanga, make one for a minute so you can go to his website and give him eprops anyway. Let’s make it the highest rated post ever.


And to Hammoudi, inshallah if I make it there, I look forward to seeing you in heaven and paintballing with you and wrestling you to submission, you wuss

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. good job… well said Kamran… jazakallah

Leave a Reply

