Skip to content

May 10, 2004

Done With School

In the words of Rick James: “it’s a celebration, bit*h!… im just gettin started bit*hes!”

So I’m finally done with the first year of school, alhamdulillah. I can go back to not stimulating my brain for 3 months while making the most of the last summer vacation that I’ll ever have in my life.

I guess that’s kind of depressing isn’t it? Next year, I’ll have to worry about studying for boards and then right after boards will be rotations… and in all probabilty the death of this xanga as well.

I’m not sure if I’m supposed to be wiser and mature now. I mean, I’ve learnt all kinds of information, but am I to give up my immaturity and childish ways? Questions like this will be pondered about during this summer, which as George Costanza said, “I’m declaring this the summer of George!”… I’m declaring Summer 2004 to be the summer of Kamran. What this really means, I have no idea. But it certainly sounds dramatic, doesnt it. And no one else named this upcoming summer after them, so I guess I beat out the competition.

Speaking of competition, the Spelling and Vocab Bee is shaping up quite nicely, alhamdulillah. We already have over 30 spelling bee kids registered, and about 15 vocab bee kids registered, and these numbers seem to be increasing daily. What started out as a far-fetched idea and doubts as to whether we can even get 10 kids to show up to this thing is now a legitimate and appreciated event in the community (mainly from parents). An actual email (this is cute)from a very enthusiastic participant:

<<Assalamu Alaikum,

Thank you! I just had a few questions and concerns that I would like to share! Although you may not win, will you still recieve cash prizes? When should I get my spot registered? Where should I go first thing when I come there? Is there a specific spot for 7th graders to stand during the Spelling Bee? Please answer my questions as soon as possible! Inshallah, we will all meet as a team or Muslim Individuals and make peace amongst ourselves!

Wa’alaikum Assalam!>>

Anyway boys and girls, if you know of people in 5-10th grade, encourage them to sign up and participate in this event. the website is finally back online, so I can put this link for your viewing pleasure: www.uicmsa.com/bee . Also, if anyone wants to help out with this or has ideas, feel free to contact me.

Alright, I need to sleep. More posting and sounding off to come soon, particularly the latest “developments” in the Middle East.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

